iTunesArtwork

iOS 5 Icon Sizes and Names (New iPad)

Today we undertook the gruesomely tedious job of updating our apps and making the needed high resolution images for the new iPad. For reasons that escape me entirely, Apple made it kind of hard to find all the info we needed to update icons, intro images, and so on. So here, to make your life easier than ours was, is a summary of all the sizes and names for the icons that you’ll need to develop iOS 5 apps.  Can you feel the love? And hey, if you find this information useful, pretty please with bananas and a cherry on top like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter.

Device/Screen File Name (PNG) Icon Size (pixels)
iPhone and iPod
Application Icon for iPhone (retina display) Icon@2x.png 114 x 114
Application Icon icon for iPhone Icon.png 57 x 57
Settings/Spotlight icon for iPhone (retina display) Icon-Small@2x.png 58 x 58
Settings/Spotlight icon for iPhone Icon-Small.png 29 x 29
Launch image Portrait (retina display) Default@2x.png 640 x 960
Launch image Portrait Default.png 320 x 480
iPad
Application Icon for the new iPad (retina display) Icon-72@2x.png 144 x 144
Application Icon for the iPad Icon-72.png 72 x 72
Settings/Spotlight icon for iPad Icon-Small-50@2x.png 100 x 100
Settings/Spotlight icon for iPad Icon-Small-50.png 50 x 50
Launch image Portrait (retina display) Default-Portrait@2x.png 1536 x 2008
Launch image Portrait Default-Portrait.png 768 x 1004
Launch image Landscape (retina display) Default-Landscape@2x.png 2048 x 1496
Launch image Landscape Default-Landscape.png 1024 x 748
iTunes App Store
App icon for the App Store (retina display) iTunesArtwork@2x.png 1024 x 1024
App icon for the App Store iTunesArtwork.png 512 x 512